Urch Forums

Introduction and Advice Search

dmunson98

Hi all, I'm new to this forum, so I just thought I would introduce myself and ask for some advice while I'm at it.

Home:Southeastern Pennsylvania

Current Institution: McGill University, 2nd year

Program: Joint Honours in Economics and English Literature (more on that below)

Favorite Economist: Paul Krugman (I know it's cliché, but his tweets are savage)

Post-Graduation Plan: Pursue a PhD in economics with a specialization in development economics

So, now that that's out of the way, one of the main reasons I created an account here is because I really need some advice, whether that comes in the form of some unpleasant truth or some words of comfort (of course I'd prefer the latter, but please do be honest). For starters, it is true that the English component of my degree is mostly a personal passion thing; that being said, it also serves a practical purpose. The bare Honours Econ degree here does not guarantee that you will be able to get research experience; however, with the Joint Honours with English, I will likely get to write a research paper that will be interdisciplinary, and right now it looks like it might be as much as 30% hard econ research, which I figure can't hurt on an application.

My advisors have assured me that as long as I continue to do well in my econ and math courses–with the exception of two semesters of French, all my electives outside of Econ and English will be math–the fact that my English degree has little to no bearing on econ won't hurt me on grad school apps. That being said, I am an extremely anxious person, and while I love my English courses and, for both the personal and practical reasons, likely won't give up the English component, I am still a bit worried about my overall appeal to grad schools.