Urch Forums

phd economics programs with average gre scores

accountingphd

Hi Startz and accountingphd,

Correct me if I am wrong, but I think the 153 is a 51 percentile score and a 143 is a 20th percentile verbal score. https://www.ets.org/s/gre/pdf/gre_guide.pdf

Above is where I found that information! I had some issues with my GRE (161 in math, which wasn't high enough for some programs that I wanted) but I think you just have to think really realistically about your program choices. Take a look at their averages as far as GRE scores and previous math experience go. If you want to shoot for some better programs, consider retaking the GRE or taking some more math to prep yourself! I have limited knowledge as I am in the application process as well, but this is the advice that I have heard from others. From my experience looking at programs, I don't think anywhere in the top 80 has an average GRE score below 155 quant. I am not sure how programs outside of this may fare. Best of luck to you throughout the process! :)

I completed Calculus 1(A), Calculus 2©. The reason for a C in calc 2 was bad teacher. I received As in all prior math courses. Currently, I'm registered for calculus 3, intro to linear algebra/differential equations.

What do you mean by 13th percentile? The ets website says.... 51% quant.

Apologies, I missed a requirement to add across columns. The data is from Page Not Found

I believe the right answer is 21st percentile.

Pretty much all econ PhD students have through linear algebra and most have a proof based course such as real analysis.

The quant GRE is based roughly on 10th grade math. One possibility is that you've forgotten material you took long ago. If you didn't study intensely for the GRE you should do so and try again. If you are one of those people who just doesn't connect with standardized exams, then you're probably in trouble (fairly or not). Most econ PhD programs won't seriously look at your application with that score.