Urch Forums

advice needed (undergrad)

underg2121

Hello,

I'm currently a junior at a private university (top 20 econ department).

I am studying econ and math (double major), and I am in a dilemma right now:

My GPA isn't good and I am expecting it to be around 3.64 by the time I graduate (assuming I graduate in 4 years). I was wondering if it is better to do an extra year and try to raise my GPA (while keep working as an RA). I have some research experience with a professor at my university, and this upcoming summer, I plan on working either with the same professor or a well known macroeconomist. Specifically, the two options I was thinking of were:

1. Stay an extra year - take more math courses and take grad-level courses (both econ and math) while keep working as an RA for the professor and try to raise my GPA. Question: If I do a fifth year, should I go for a dual degree? Does dual degree matter at the end? (If I were to do a dual degree, one downside is that I would have to take more undergraduate econ electives, which I find to be not very necessary of my time.) Also, do the admissions committees view doing a fifth year negatively?

2. Work as an RA under a well known economist after senior year (assuming I graduate in 4 years) - I know two well-known economists (not in my university) who are willing to work with me. Would this be a better option for me?

Historically, my school has placed students in at least top 20 except one, who was placed in a top 40.

Please give me some advice! :) Thank you in advance for your help.

I vote for RA. It would also helps if you have a solid idea of what you want to do with your degree, indicated by a research project in your senior year. Once you get an RA gig you can take some math or grad level econ courses part time (provided your supervisor is okay with you doing classes). Don't worry too much about your GPA - I know a guy with UGPA of 3.6 and got into UPenn. Your letters matter most.