Urch Forums

Europe Master Scholarships for Non-EU Students

dt1330

Hi everybody,

I am an Economics student from Turkey and I have been accepted to CEMFI with a tuition waiver, however, I haven't received a stipend.

It would be extremely hard for my parents and me to cover the living expenses for two years. Do you know any scholarships that are offered to Non-EU students to study in Spain? Or can you give me some advice about funding?

Thank you

It's a rather odd arrangement. From my understanding, everyone who gets into CEMFI will be funded.

In any case, I believe the email was sent by Arellano, right? You can try emailing him, expressing your interest in attending the programme but am worried about financing living expenses. You can ask him if there's any other financing opportunities that he might know of, or perhaps ask him if there's any RA positions available for you to finance your studies with?

Well, that was the case in the previous years. From forums, this year I have seen that there are some people that did not receive any tuition waiver at all. And they changed the funding information on their website as 'We offer a limited number of scholarships.' So, I believe they lowered the number of scholarships available.

Thank you for your advice. I will be contacting them.

Hi, I was admitted to the CEMFI yesterday without funding, it was kind of disappointing as I thought everybody would at least get a tuition waiver. Anyways, I'll still attend the program as it looks really great and my other option is the MSc Economics at LSE, which I can simply not afford. I'm also a non-EU student (Switzlerand) and will have to rely on my extended family to pay for the two years, probably taking a loan too, as my parents alone would not be able to afford that. It also means I'll have to work a little before entering a PhD to repay all that. It's really not optimal to take a loan but it's the only option I have, coming from a relatively low income family.