Urch Forums

Is there any point in doing this if I can't get into top 30?

notgoodenough

What do you do if you love econ, are passionate about teaching and research, can't think of doing anything else with your life, but can't get into a good program? My undergrad GPA is average (3.5) and GRE is not stellar (163Q, 158V) . I start a one-year masters soon but I'm sure I'm not going to finish top of the class there as well. Also, I'm not an American citizen. I'm sure I can get good recos and probably manage to get somewhere in top 50-70. But is there a point? A lot of people tell me there isn't. Do these places produce any good research at all?

Does someone from a college that's ranked 50 have any shot at getting a decent academic job? What about industry? Will I be screwed if I hold a PhD from a college not well known, considering that I won't be able to get a job as a professor easily and I'll be over-qualified for most jobs in industry? Will I at least be able work at a community college or something somewhere in the USA (keep in mind I'm not American)?

You won't be "over-qualified" for most jobs in industry. The whole over-qualification thing is mostly a myth, or euphemism for old age.

The main concern of doing a low-ranked PhD and not getting into academia is that you'll end up placing at entry-level jobs in the private sector, as if you haven't done a PhD. But it's very rare that the PhD will actually count against being hired. In your case, the main barrier from being hired for something like entry-level consulting or banking would be your communication skills. That's something you can improve during a PhD program, so it may actually have some positive value.