Urch Forums

Good working relationship

therealslimkt

I'm a rising sophomore at a top 10 US school, and I've been lucky enough to score an RA position with a great professor who works in my field of interest too. How do I make the best of it? I would ideally like to continue to work for this professor in the near future and have them be the faculty mentor for my independent research. What can I do to foster a good working relationship?

You ask a good question. Basically, you want the professor to see you as a net asset and someone with a bright future.

(1) Do good job. Get things done on time (or explain if you run into a snag).

(2) Assume you will make mistakes. So check your work. If you get something wrong, let the prof know.

(3) Communication is very important. That means write up what you are doing thoughtfully.

(4) Document what you have one in a way that someone can understand it without your help. Your work should be reproducible without needing to consult you.

(5) If you don't understand something, ask.

(6) The odds are good that the professor will get some stuff wrong. When that happens, point it out (real politely).

(7) Be the kind of person who is pleasant to be around.

I have two students who just graduated who did all these things. I am going to miss them.