Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation, Fall 2019

Perennial

Type of Undergrad: South East Asian University (not even at the national level, but it was a state university and I was in a full English program). I was in the business program of the Economics department.

Undergrad GPA: 3.77/4.00

Type of Grad: MBA from top 50 US Business Schools with Fulbright's master scholarship.

Grad GPA: 3.40/4.00

GRE: GRE 153V,160Q,3AW. It was unfortunate that I took the test when I was sick. I plan to retake the test, but I'm afraid I don't have time to do so.

Math Courses: Mathematics, Statistics, Operations Research. (I had minimal math courses due to business program)

Econ Courses: Intro to Econ, Microeconomics, Developmental Economics, International Economics, Managerial Economics

Letters of Recommendation: I graduated from business school in 2011 so academic LOR is a bit difficult for me however, I have been working as a researcher in various local research institutes and I could have recommendations from the lead researchers there.

Research Experience: 5 years experience as a researcher in various local research institutes (the main one ties to the top university in the country), mainly researching topics related to forestry, ecology, and climate change. Most projects I did were about public policy, decisions, and the socio-economic implications. I only have one local journal publication and another international publication that I co-authored, as the other researches were in the form of reports (ISBNs are available for these). I have two manuscripts that I'm currently working on. My role as a researcher was mainly as a quantitative analyst and research designer.