Urch Forums

Fall 2019 Econ Phd Eval, aiming for top 10

ajk

Hello friendly folks of urch! I'm currently a student in the UK aiming to get into the top 10 in the US(hopefully). I really don't want to spend the time/money going through the route of a masters first. I do know that getting into the top 10 is no easy task, but I would really love to know my chances.

Type of Undergrad: Oxbridge, pure economics, currently in last of three years of undergraduate education

Undergrad GPA: 1st class honours in both of my first two years, ranked top 10 and top 5 in level for the two years.

Math Courses: Math I, Math II (My level of math is about the mathematical appendix of the MWG)

Econ Courses: Macro (I, II, III), Micro (I, II, III), Econometrics (I, II, III), Labour, Economic Theory and Analysis

GRE Scores: 170/170/6

Letters of Recommendation: Two from my academic supervisors, one from a pretty famous professor from my school

Research Interests: Labour economics, applied micro, econometrics

Research Experience: Currently working on my senior thesis

Teaching Experience: None

I think my academic results are pretty good, but I am pretty worried about my lack of research experience. I have a pretty swanky job offer in finance/consulting, but research is something I would rather do. However, I know that an academic career gets much more difficult if I move down to lower ranked schools, so I'll probably only consider the top 10 schools. Do you guys know of people from the UK who go on to PhDs without a master's? Thank you so much!