Sponsored Ad:

Thread: Robert Thomas: Introduction and Further Guidance Appreciated

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Introduction and Further Guidance Appreciated

Sponsored Ad:
    Hello All!

I am currently studying Economics at the undergraduate level.

Like many on this forum, I am looking to gain admission to a reputable Ph.D. program in econ. Below I will list off some of my current credentials and the activities I am engaging in to strengthen my prospective application.

Major: Econ
    Minor: Math
    University: Satellite campus for well-known state school.
    GPA: 3.94
    Major GPA: 4.0
    Expected Graduation: May 2020

Research Experience:
    • Worked as a research assistant to professor doing work on foreign direct investment.
    • My current research is independent but does have an advisor. It deals with monetary shocks and equity responses to those shocks.
    • I am applying for summer research opportunities at other campuses; results have not come back.

I have not taken the official GRE yet, but I have taken a practice exam without any prior study to see how I would do. These preliminary scores are listed below. I plan on studying a lot of quant to get my score up to at least 165.

Verbal: 156
    Quantitative: 153

Beyond this, I am having trouble finding the faculty I would like to work with. Of course, I know the top names in the field for which I would like to apply myself (monetary economics and macro). It is hard to believe that I will be able to land a position as a mentee under these individuals.

How does one go about picking a reasonable, well-connected individual before applying to grad school all while being realistic about doing so? If I were to get in touch with these individuals, is it too forward to ask whether or not they will be accepting Ph.D. candidates to advise?