Urch Forums

Agricultural/Applied Programs

Robbo

Hi all, I am new to posting on this forum, however I have been reading posts for quite some time now.

I am currently a grad student in Applied Economics, getting my MS from a small school in Minnesota.

I am pretty sure that I want to go the Applied/Agricultural route as far as a PhD goes, because it does not seem as difficult, and it also does not seem as competitive. Plus I do not think my math skills will get me through the trad. econ program, but weirder things have happened I suppose. The thought of Real Analysis sort of frightens me, and the ag programs don't seem to factor it in.

I'm sure that there have been posts about this before, but any information about ag/applied programs would be great.

I'm looking into UC-Berkeley, UC-Davis, Oregon State, U of Minn, and U of Wisc as my top 5 choices of Ag/Applied Econ.

I'm worried about my Q score in the GRE. It is 680. I am wondering if it is not weighted as highly in ag programs.

So it goes 530/680/4.5 on the GRE.

and 3.4 Undergrad GPA (major in Statistics)

and 3.6 GPA after one semester in my masters program, however it should be converging towards 4.0 by the end.

Have taken Calc I, II, Linear Algebra, Discrete Math I and lots of statistics

So I guess any advice would be nice.

Thanks much

Yeah I've definitely been thinking about that.

I just looked at the extensive statistics at the U of Minn regarding their Admissions of Applied Econ students.

Looks like 20% of admits scored 600-699 on the GRE Quant. That's at least one 'uppers' regarding this.

What happens if you take it again, and you score WORSE? heh...I wouldn't want that.