Urch Forums

BS Stat or BS Math for second major?

rubikford

Hi. I'm an Econ sophomore at a large research university in California, and I'm interested in pursuing a PhD in Econ. I've been reading most of the threads in here, and so far, they've been pretty helpful, in fact, bolstering my choice to pursue grad school in Econ instead of going to med school, which is what my parents want me to do.

Anyway, I'm a bit undecided on whether I should complete a second major in either Math or Statistics. My question, hence, is: Which program should I choose for a second major?

Thanks.

well...

I think...if you aim Phd in Econ..

whether you claim you major Math or Stat makes no big difference...

Of course, if you claim you major Stat,let s say..you would have to take more stat courses in the years to come..

but you can also take you math as your elective...

To me, math major seems better...

except...sometimes Abstract Math or Complex Analysis may be required to take...which are very useful....but not necessary in Economics...

I'm in a similar situation, and based on what I've read here, for the content of the stat major at my school (berkeley), Statistics seems like a better option than Math. But it depends on the content of the majors at your school.

for me, the applied math major requires:

Real Analysis

Numerical Analysis

Complex Analysis

Abstract Algebra

Linear Algebra (upper division version in addition to lower division version)

three mathemathical econ courses

The statistics major has a lot more flexibility. I have to take:

Some computation with data course

Probability

Statistics

and I can choose to take:

Game Theory

Stochastic Processes

Time Series

and three mathematical econ courses.

Since all the core classes for the stat major are recommended, it seems like a better idea to go with statistics and just take analysis as an elective. Again, it depends on the content (and flexibility) of the majors at your school.