Sponsored Ad:
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: UK grade and US GPA

Good post? Yes | No

Question UK grade and US GPA

Sponsored Ad:
    Hi forum members,
    Thanks a lot for your replies for my previous posts. I just want to find out the grading system to convert UK to US GPA.
    UK grades are
    1st Class= 70%
    2:1 upper second class = 60%-69.99%
    2:2 lower second class= 50% - 59.99%
    Pass= 45%-49.99%.

But normally student range differently e.g. I have A's in some courses, Bís as well and Cís as well overall I have 68% in my results if I leave out my first year result (which are not counted towards final results). Who I will convert these grades?

Good post? Yes | No
    I have been following your posts clearly and I think I can help. I am the guy who raised the issue about your GPA first in your previous post. I am a second class upper student but my CWA was very high and very close to first class. (69.11). I think 2.1 is either less than 3.0 or very close. You can still make it but the best thing is to apply to more medium schools and few if any top 10 schools. You know the big schools hardly compormise and they usually find it difficult to give you the benefit of the doubt. Again, in reply to your previous post, dont be concerned about your maths background. Econometrics and Economics for mathematics are o.k and your gre quants score is execllllent. People make a lot of noice about the importance of the GRE but I think it is second to your GPA. However note that the admission process is a rondom act. So you can still take the risk but take a necessary risk. Goodluck o.k and hope you make it up next year.

An Urch Guru Pundit Swami Sage

Good post? Yes | No
    The 2.1 range is so broad that it does not make sense to convert it to GPA. However, if u do, I had found couple of years ago a conversion guide from Berkeley saying that a First is A (and A+ if above 75), 65-69 A-, 60-64 B+ etc

Eager!

Good post? Yes | No