Urch Forums

Help me choose where to study for a masters

tim1012

Hi everyone, I`m a latin american student and I`ve been reading a lot of helpful information about the phd`s admissions procedures. I`d really appreciate if you help me by choosing where to study for a masters in economics and my realistic chance of getting accepted to them. My preliminary list contains European masters as well as Americans. Although I`ve read over and over that masters in economics in United States are not a good preparation for a phd, I have to consider this option since my decision also depends on the scholarship I earn, and there are few to the US.

I studied economics from a not very known university and graduated with a 3.4 GPA. I did a lot of econ courses, but very few math courses (Calc I, Mathematical Economics). I haven’t taken the GRE but I`m expecting a Q score of around 720-750. I know my profile is weak, and because of this I have to do a masters before applying to a phd in the US (my goal would be top 60-100, with funding).

Here`s my list:

Spain:

• CEMFI Msc in Economics and Finance
  • Universidad de Alicante Msc in Quantitative Economics
  • Universitat Autónoma de Barcelona (UAB) Msc in Economic Análisis

United States:

• JHU MA in Applied Economics
  • NYU MA in Economics
  • BU MA in Economic Policy
  • The New School for Social Research Msc in Economics
  • Fordham MA in Economics

P.S.: I`m not considering Canada or any other country because Spain and United States are the only countries I can go with a scholarship.

Thanks in advanced

I`d really appreciate if you help me by choosing where to study for a masters in economics and my realistic chance of getting accepted to them. My preliminary list contains European masters as well as Americans. Although

the best economic master in spain is pompeu fabra, i think the admission is not extremely competitive (it is more difficult enter in the phd at upf), so you can give it a try.

iugi