Urch Forums

Tailoring the SOP for various schools

desimba

Hello,

I am an engineer with an MBA and will be applying to a number of business schools and economics programs for the Fall 2008 admissions cycle. My interests are in the area of international economics & development economics. Some of the econ programs that I am planning on applying to include Yale/ Maryland/ Iowa/ Arizona State/ Tepper/ Wisconsin-Madison.

My question is regarding the Statement of Purpose (SOP). How much should I focus on tailoring the SOPs to suit the requirements of every single school? Other than the section where I change the names of the faculty members I hope to be working with, is there a lot of rewording which is necessary when I apply to these different places?

Thanks for your responses,

SB

Perhaps you could change (or include) major works/papers of the people you'd like to work with. For example, I would like to go to Princeton and work with Faruk Gul (for example) on a specific area / subfield (mention here a couple of his papers), NOT generally on "theory" or "economic theory" or "applied theory" or whatever. :) Or, I would like to go to Stanford and work with Matt Jackson on a specific area of auctions. Generalities and "one size fits all" SOPs do not add in your application. At least this is what I was told by a prof of mine and author of famous game theory books. (of course you can always get admitted even with crappy SOP if you are good enough) :)

You can always, and probably will, change your specific interests but, other things being equal, knowledge of the relevant literature will signal motivation and seriousness (again told so by my prof mentioned above).