Urch Forums

All about TA -ing.

currentstudent

I am new to the TAing business. Are there recommendations you could make about TAing? For example, I have heard that sometimes which courses you have TAed may make a difference on the job market so you don't want to do all intro classes and nothing but. How about intermediate courses? How do you personally decide which courses you want to TA? What is TAing like at your school -- do TAs have to attend lecture? I am curious.

Admittedly I haven't started TAing yet. I imagine that at least for the first year you don't get much say on which courses you TA for. It'll almost definitely be intro courses. At the University of Texas I've been told that some professors want you to sit in on lectures and some don't care.

At Wisconsin, you get to express your preference for courses, but this goes based on seniority. However, you still have to say if your schedule allows you to TA for the intro classes. I don't know any first-year students who have TAed for anything but introductory courses (I TAed principles of micro both semesters this year.)

Whether you need to attend lecture or not depends entirely on the professor; one professor I worked with posted all the notes online so I never went and the other wanted us to go every once in a while. It depends on your experience with the material. Additionally, you have to do two days of mandatory TA training during your first year and your professor will evaluate you after a few weeks of your first semester.

For example, I have heard that sometimes which courses you have TAed may make a difference on the job market so you don't want to do all intro classes and nothing but.