Urch Forums

Job opportunities after MPhil Economics at Cambridge

Iwanttostudy

Hi guys,

I'm an international student and I'll be starting my MPhil in Economics at Cambridge in 2008. I was just wondering that how are the job opportunities after graduation, especially for an international student ?

I heard that getting a work permit is also a big issue. Is it true ?

I think that after completing master degree you automatically get working permit (maybe only for one year)

Thanks a lot for your reply. Yup, I know about the 1 year work opportunity. I was wondering that is it likely that my employers would extend the period beyond 1st year.

Also, what I am really curious about is that how difficult is it for an asian international student with no WE to find a suitable job. In essence, how long does the Cambridge brand name take someone ?

well, i think according to the new IGS scheme after masters u can work for 2 years. and about jobs markets are bleeding take my word i know people from LSE, warwick,even oxford not getting jobs ( good ones of course) in areas such as IB which are fiercely competed for.

I think the UK government are about to introduce a points system. As you'll presumably already have a job in your 1-2 year grace period after the masters and you'll have a postgraduate degree and you'll be fluent in English I should think that you'll easily have enough ponts whatever the system.

You should be able to get a decent job in pretty much whatever field you want.

No they did not. But not everyone wants to work at an investment bank :)

If you want to make money you will be able to get a job where you'll be earning £50k after a year or two £80k, after 3-4 years and then more after that, which I would consider a pretty decent job. It is difficult to get the jobs that pay £60k straight out of school because there aren't very many of them.