Urch Forums

Topic: Independence for young adults? Comments needed

Sakti Phoenix

Sorry, but the topic is different from what I wrote first.

Here´s my essay, I would be really happy if anyone of you could read it:

Topic 99:

You have been told that dormitory rooms at your university must be shared by two students. Would you rather have the university assign a student to share a room with you, or would you rather choose your own roommate? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

Knowing the kind of person that I am, I would definitely choose my university roommate. I know that from time to time it is good to meet new people and to have new friends, but my shy and serious attitudes make this task a lot more difficult than it would be for a more garrulous person. Besides, I am a devoted student who always seeks for the peace that only silence can offer.

Shyness is one of my qualities as a person. It is quite hard for me to get in touch with new people, and because of that, I have always tried to keep just one or two good friends. My friends, however, have introduced me to different persons, and little by little, I have increased my academic socialization. Still, I need more time to face interactions with other students.

Also, other of my personal characteristics is seriousness. Above all, I have always tried to be a serious person, both as a student and as a friend. I like equanimity, and as such, not many people are prepared to face the maturity by which I take decisions. If something is wrong, I try to correct it as soon as possible. In that way, when my friends are in trouble, they shall get my sometimes hard points of view and advices.