Urch Forums

What if you take the harder AP/Honors classes in your senior year instead of junior?

Tennis

Here's the deal: I'm currently a sophomore and I need to choose my classes for junior year. I'm taking AP Physics B this year and that is the only AP/Honors class I have taken so far.

Here's what I've signed up for next year (junior year):

AP Calc AB

AP Bio

APUSH

APES

Honors English 11

Honors Chemistry (Highest Chemistry class at our school)

Spanish 2

However, the Honors Chemistry course is pretty hard from what I've heard. Most people get C's, good students (even a ranked 1 person) got a 90%. Only 3 people have A's out of 70 students. Many FAIL. I've heard this from a variety of students taking it this year: The teacher doesn't teach at all, he gives labs often and these take up a lot of time to do (they are a big part of your grade), he gives hard pop quizzes and extremely hard tests. About the hard pop quizzes and extremely hard tests, no one knows what to study for because he doesn't give you any study guide or tell you what to study for, the questions are mostly conceptual based and many questions aren't even in the book (?), it's like: if you do this to ____ what happens? why are ____ stinky?... That's what I've heard from other people.