Urch Forums

Ph.D. at MIT or Princeton ?

Passepartout

Dear all,

I am a French student with a nuclear engineering background. I am currently finishing a double master degree at Tsinghua University, Beijing.

I have applied to both MIT and Princeton for Ph.D. in nuclear engineering and have been admitted to both with complete financial aid for next 2014 fall. Actually, the field I aim to study is rather particular. It is nuclear security, arms control, nuclear non-proliferation and nuclear terrorism. As you might guess, this realm is not only a matter of engineering but also involves international relations and policy analysis.

While I have planned to do 5 years more in engineering (the Ph.D.), I am passionate about international relations. In the future, I don't see myself as an engineer, a scientist nor a professor. I would like to work for the French government as an expert on questions of international security which involves both technical and policy problems and on China.

Here is how I see the bright-sides and seamy-sides of both universities for my carrier :

---

Princeton

+ Excellent International Relations School (Woodrow Wilson School)

+ Location

+ The lab in which I would work is very friendly and I already know a French guy here

- Less famous than MIT (at least in Asia and France)

MIT

+ Strong engineering reputation and environment

- I have less contact with the lab for the moment

? Not sure about if I could be in close contact with international relations and policy analysis students, scholars etc.

---

I know I am very lucky to have to choose between MIT and Princeton. But I still would like to hear about your opinions, taking into account my ambitions.

Thank you in advance.

Best,

• 11 months later...

If you want to get more involved in politics and international relationship, go with Princeton. If you want to focus on engineering, MIT is the obvious choice.