PDA

View Full Version : Advice on a way to improve Math Background / Real Analysis

Visible Hand
10-17-2008, 11:51 AM
Hi folks,

I am an international student in the last year of a Master Program and I'm applying this fall to Econ PhDs.

My undergraduate/graduate background is not that excellent but neither so poor: I took uni/multivariate calculus, linear algebra, differential equations, mathematical statistics, multivariate statistics, basic topology, static and dynamic optimization, bayesian inference theory.

My graduate advisor suggested me to improve my math background in order to increase my admission chances; the point is that I need to rigorously study Real Analysis, at least at the undergraduate level.

Therefore as part of my "free credits" I chose to take a course in the Math/Physics school, in mathematical analysis. This course deals with functional analysis in R^n, some measure theory, Lebesgue integration and further advanced stuff with many applications in Physics.

With the support of my graduate advisor I spoke with the Math Professor of this course in order to set a personalized program for me and another girl coming from the MS in Economics (and willing to applying to PhDs) - since these are "free credits" we are allowed to do this. The Math Professor advice was this: to stop attending the course after Lebesgue integration and to make a personalized oral examination over about HALF of the course programme PLUS an additional part from RUDIN's book according to our personal needs in Real Analysis. I and this girl will study alone this additional part, however the Prof. is available to explain us what is not very clear in the office hours.