PDA

View Full Version : Very much confused

milli
04-07-2004, 10:42 AM
Hi All;
I have got an admission offer from Northeastern University and University of North Texas but without any scholorship.
Program is M.S. in computer science.I have a three years of work experience in software industry . My bachelors degree was in Mechanical.

I am not from a rich family so I cant get finacial support from my family .All I can do is get loan from bank. Can any one please suggest me whether to go for MS without a scholorship or not.

I am very much confused. Please help

ketan
04-07-2004, 11:43 AM
Hi Milli,

I can understand the situation.

Infact it seems that most of the MS admit this time are with any aid or waiver.

I too have got it form Irvine and MSU.. have to reject Irvine due to cost. Somehow putting togather for MSU. Infact if nothing works form there as promised by prof from there then I might opt out early :(

U can better talk with prof there and see if anyone has project(funded) in your area of interest. Talk with students there and ask what is scope after 1 sem.
U can expect anything after only 1 (mix) or 2 sem .. so should be ready to spend that much.

If u are not in hurry and think it is real tought to get 45K$+ then better try to talk with university if they can defer your admit and then try again for next yr for aid.

I am not sure I can suggest u anything.. it is tough situation and personal. Best thing to do it calculate the ROI for your investment and see what u can get from this univ.. job wise and how long it will take for u to payoff.

U can go for loan.. banks.. but think of all implications.

2 yrs of pay loss + 1 yr setup period (post study ) + 2 yr study
should be able to pay within 3-5 yrs.

HTH
bye
ketan

zorrillo
04-07-2004, 11:51 PM
Originally posted by ketan

U can better talk with prof there and see if anyone has project(funded) in your area of interest. Talk with students there and ask what is scope after 1 sem.