PDA

View Full Version : Profile Eval - Weird background

zshfryoh1
11-07-2008, 01:13 AM
Just took my GRE yesterday. I am currently trying to decide whether to apply to Econ PhD programs or to Math Masters programs for next year, though my eventual goal is an Econ or Finance PhD. I will only post my profile on the Roll Call once I decide whether I will be applying to Econ or Finance PhD's.

I have a weird educational background for a PhD applicant and some mediocre grades, as well as some extenuating circumstances. First I will describe the non-standard part of my profile, as well as some extenuating circumstances I have had, after which I give the more standard part of my profile.

I am currently a full time student majoring in Econ and Math at a large public college in the northeast,with a decent Econ PhD and a top 30 math PhD program. However, I have simultaneously been a full time student at a Rabbinical and Talmudic Law Studies School. This school IS NOT intended for those planning on being pulpit Rabbis. The school concentrates on advanced study and analysis of Talmudic Law, and treats its ordination program as a graduate program (all incoming students to the ordination program are required to have a minimum of 5 years post-secondary Talmudic Law studies, and most have >6). The school has two programs for non-ordination students. All students in the standard program must be there 35-45 hours per week, depending on individual schedule with 38-40 being typical. The school also has a more intense program requiring >55 hours per week, which I did my first year after high school (and I deferred my college admission one year). The academic year begins in late August and goes until mid June with a two week fall break and a two week spring break during the Jewish Holidays. Students are encouraged to do independent Talmudic Law research, and all students are required to present at least one paper of original research per year in a student seminar. I have made six such