PDA

View Full Version : Chinese undergraduate's profile evaluation.Please help~

leixiaowen04
10-27-2010, 12:50 PM
Background:
Undergraduate school: top 10 in China, but its my major's rank is not a top 10 one
Undergraduate major: international economy and trade
Undergraduate GPA:3.5+,but my maths is poor. I took Calculus I (88),Calculus II (70),Probability and statistics(84),Linear matrix(94),operational research(80),my econ courses are intermediate macro(85),intermediate micro(86),I have taken some other courses like international trade, international finance, accounting, which has little relation with economic theory)
RA experience: I am now an RA in a famous institute in China, but the things I do is not so academically related.(only 3 months experience).
TA experience: taught chemistry and maths before, also I have been a piano teacher for 2 years
3 recommendation letter:one from the chair of management department (about my course performance and academic activities in school), one from my mentor (not famous,talk about research experience),one from a maths professor
SOP:I am writing it now, talk about my interest and understanding of economics(any suggestions?)
Schools I am going to apply:
dream school:Virginia, Washington U St.Louis, North Carolina, Boston College, UC Irvine,PSU
other schools:Syracuse U,Indiana State U, U of Notre Dame, Clemson, Florida international U,
George Washington U, Florida State U, LSU, Northeastern, Virginia Tech, American U, Binghamton, U of Massachusetts Amherst, Stony Brook, Southern illinios U,Temple, West Virginia, Brandeis U

I have now chosen 29 schools, but I am not going to apply so many, I want to cut some universities, finally I want to apply for 20 universities. Am I aiming to high? Could you give me some advice on choosing universities?

Thank you for your help very much:)

nnweconphd
10-27-2010, 01:09 PM
Does Indiana State offer a PhD program?