PDA

View Full Version : Professor (IVY school) tells me no chance at TOP 5 for following reassons. Thoughts?

pursuit
11-03-2010, 03:12 PM
I graduated last year and a professor at my college (Top 3, IVY) tells me I have no or a very slim chance at Top 5 econ programs for following reasons (which I mostly agree with). I just wanted to hear your thoughts and possibly some advice on how I can address them, although I think that there is little I can do at this point....

1) Poor grades in econ classes
B+ in Intro Macro, B+ in Game theory, B in Finance.
All other econ classes such as econometrics, intermediate micro/macro, labor econ, development econ, etc: Mostly A-'s with some A's
Major GPA: 3.72, Overall: 3.78

2) 2 years of RA experience in college + 1 year of full-time RA experience post-college BUT NO PUBLICATIONS or coauthored paper

3) NO writing sample: I did do a senior project but didn't get a chance to revise it or anything. I'd rather not send it because I'm not very happy with the quality.

I did take up to real analysis and got all As in my math courses except for an A- in analysis. But his thinking is that competition is fierce nowadays and from what he's seen in recent years, it's people with close to 4.0 GPAs and some solid publications who get into Top 5... HMMMMM...

rthunder27
11-03-2010, 04:06 PM
I'm no expert, but I think he's probably right based on #1 alone, those grades are good, but not top 5 good. 2 is only relevant because of #1, as in a publication could have helped mitigate poor grades. I also doubt that an unpublished optional writing sample would have much of an impact either way.

dreck
11-03-2010, 04:18 PM
it's people with close to 4.0 GPAs and some solid publications who get into Top 5... HMMMMM...

This is false. See the recent thread called "Don't worry about Publications!".