PDA

View Full Version : Question to current Econ PhDs

wetslope
11-13-2010, 06:39 PM
Hi, I am a graduate student in a non-econ social science program interested in using mathematical models in my research -- not statistical or econometrics related. I was wondering which out of the following graduate level econ sequence would be the best option to pursue in this regard:

a) Math for Economists (Two semester sequence)
b) Graduate Microeconomics (also Two semester sequence)

or are there any others courses/sequences you would recommended?

Thanks in advance.

michaelmas
11-13-2010, 07:02 PM
What about a Calculus sequence at your math department?

enginecon
11-13-2010, 07:15 PM
Hi, I am a graduate student in a non-econ social science program interested in using mathematical models in my research... which out of the following graduate level econ sequence would be the best option to pursue in this regard:

a) Math for Economists (Two semester sequence)
b) Graduate Microeconomics (also Two semester sequence)

It all depends on your present math and econ preparation... You'd probably need much of the equivalent of (a) to be able to absorb well (b)... You may already know much of (a) from previous courses not necessarily aimed at econ... Even if you have (the equivalent of) (a), (b) might be tough (although not impossible) with zero econ background... you may consider an "intermediate micro" sequence prior to (b).... sometimes the business school teaches a course at the intermediate micro level (accepted for grad credit possibly for MBA students) which could be interesting as a basic prep for (b), even if you have the necessary math already.

wetslope
11-13-2010, 07:39 PM