PDA

View Full Version : I have a merit from LSE Msc Econ. Where should I apply ??

twist701
11-17-2010, 05:11 AM
I graduated with a merit from LSE Msc Econ last year. I have about a year of research experience and have 3 semi-strong recommendation letters. I have a math ug degree from a state university with a gpa of 3.75.

I am not too sure where I should apply. Does anyone have any placement history of LSE Msc Econ students ?? With a merit, do I have any chance for top 10 ??

Thank you so much !!!!!!

twist701
11-18-2010, 01:35 AM
can someone please help out ?? :(

elcapitano
11-18-2010, 09:58 AM
With a merit, do I have any chance for top 10 ??

Probably not, LSE require a distinction and they probably go easier on their own students than other similarly ranked schools.

I believe a Merit can cover quite a range of performance. If you just missed out on a distinction then schools in the mid-teens might be possible. If you just scraped a Merit then schools around 30 might be where you want to look. You should ask someone at LSE with experience of these things...

petecheese
11-18-2010, 10:53 AM
The reason why people can't answer you is because most don't understand what you mean by merit (including me). Is it distinction? high distinction? Also what is your Gre score?

chisquared
11-18-2010, 05:32 PM
There are three classifications of graduates in LSE's MSc programs: distinction, merit, and pass. (If you count fail, that's four, but you don't really get a degree in that instance.)

Just to clarify for people who aren't familiar with the system. As for advice for the OP: I don't really have any, sorry. Your best bet is probably to ask your professors/lecturers.

twist701
11-19-2010, 01:18 AM
My overall grade is 67 so i missed distinction by 3 points. We are allowed to continue on to the PhD program at LSE only with a distinction (overall 70% or above). The professors and advisors always talk about the top 5 schools but I am sure i cant get into any of them.