PDA

View Full Version : Weak Performance in UG: What to do now?

spiderman22
11-24-2010, 06:52 PM
I've posted on the PhD business forum but I also want some opinions from this forum as I'm asking about some MA programs.

http://www.urch.com/forums/phd-business/126900-non-traditional-applicant-please-help.html

That was my post so perhaps you can find more details there. However, I'm in my third year and I have a 3.2 GPA. I did not get very good marks on my math courses (B-). I've became interested in doing a PhD in behavioural finance/economics, and experimental economics.

I'm hoping to find a way to prove to the admission officers that I am capable of PhD-level work. However, the MA programs that I can get into based on my statistics are not designed to prepare one for academic work. However, I can't get into the rigourous MA programs (UBC, UT, Q, LSE, and etc.).

I don't think I can do another BA since I'm going to do it in the same major (which most schools disallow).

What do you think I should do now? My target is a Top 50 business or economics department.

moneyandcredit
11-24-2010, 09:25 PM
What do you mean by "another BA in the same major"? But do you mean you want to get a second BA in the same college (as in Economics, Finance, and Commerce are all part of the same college)? If that's the case, then you can petition to the second BA, at least that's been true at all three universities I've attended.

danyjtan
11-24-2010, 10:28 PM
I don't think you should do a lower ranked MA and then go to a higher ranked MA and then go to a PhD program. That's a lot of money, and admissions committees may not like the duplication of coursework. (That was option 2 in your original post)