PDA

View Full Version : Phd in economics

ZIO
01-17-2011, 06:43 PM
Hello to everyone. I really need your help. My Gre tsest scores were not that great. I got 720Q 390V 3AWA. I applied to Stockholm School of Economics, Bergen University, Erasmus university, Zurich & Geneva University. I have a Msc in Economics with very good grades and an experience in the banking sector. Do you think I got achance in any of those universities?

whatodo
01-18-2011, 05:27 AM
I have nowhere near enough experience to answer your question, but I'd suggest that to help those who do you post a full profile.

PROFILE:
Type of Undergrad:
Undergrad GPA:
Type of Grad:
Grad GPA:
GRE:
Math Courses:
Econ Courses (grad-level):
Econ Courses (undergrad-level):
Other Courses:
Letters of Recommendation:
Research Experience:
Teaching Experience:
Research Interests:
SOP:
Concerns:
Other:
Applying to:

_nanashi
01-18-2011, 07:38 AM
Its hard to say. Most people here won't know how to evaluate a european candidate trying to enter into european schools. Your banking sector experience won't count for much. Your MS.C grades certianly will. If you have good letters of reference from some of the senior professors in your department you should have a shot. My only concern is the GRE score. In american schoool a 720Q is sure to keep your application from getting looked at by most top universities. Foreign schools the story may be different depending on school, for example Canadian schools don't require GREs for students who graduated from an Canadian university.

oleador
01-19-2011, 06:43 PM
If bad GRE scores is your only serious drawback, why don't you retake the test and apply next year? The set of schools where you apply could be much higher-ranked then. But I'm saying this without seeing your full profile. You would get much more advice here if you post your profile in the form suggested by whatodo.

akmandal
01-20-2011, 11:11 AM