PDA

View Full Version : Undergraduate Mathematics Advice

Nicholas Miles
09-29-2011, 02:53 PM
Hi all,

I know this sort of topic has probably been done to death, but I'm looking for a couple of pieces of advice. I'm currently in my second year towards earning a BA (Hons) in Economics with a minor in Mathematics in Canada. I screwed up a little bit first year, though I still managed to pull of a 3.7 GPA. I am now trying to figure out what to take in upper years to better my chances of getting into a school like the LSE, or UCL. I am mostly looking at British schools as that is where I am from originally, and I do want to return there.

I am currently planning on taking Real Analysis I and II, Intermediate Lin Alg I and II, and Intermediate Calculus I and II (I think by the American system that would be Calc III and IV). I then have the option between taking Statistics and Probability I and II, or one semester of Metric Space Topology and one semester of Advanced Calculus (Calc V? Does that exist?).

I should add that I will be taking 4 semesters (2 full years) of econometrics. I can supply course descriptions for any and all courses.

EDIT: My question is as follows. Is some topology/adv calc preferable to a more rigorous introduction to probability/stats? Is a 3.7GPA, a 790-800 Quant GRE, and some RAing experience enough for some of the schools I mentioned?

tangyjackie
09-29-2011, 11:08 PM
Are you applying to Masters or PhD programs?