PDA

View Full Version : Is this enough upper level math/econ?

Jlesnick
03-09-2012, 03:01 AM
Hey guys, I'm a 24 year old guy, and I graduated last year from school in Chicago with a 3.2 cum, and 3.53 in my upper level classes, of which I took many. I got a double major in International Relations and Economics and had wanted to originally pursue a PHD in International Relations. However near the end of my studies I realized that, that was the wrong path and that Econ was the better choice. THe problem is that I have a virtually nonexistent background in mathematics. So I have committed to do what is necessary to get into a top 10 or 20 program.

TL;DR Graduated with (3.2cum/3.53upper level) in Int'l Relations and Econ, with very little math background. Would like to pursue PHD in Econ.

I've spend a lot of time researching econ programs lately, thanks in great part to a lot of the links you guys sent me, and I've come up a schedule classes for the next few semesters. Let me know what you think? This amalgam of classes is technically commensurate with a Masters in Math & Economics, however I'm not sure that I would necessarily take them as a graduate student, unless of course that is better.

Spring 2012: Intro to Econometrics (513), Intro to Game Theory (474), International Finance (Macro) 455, Stats (210), A survey in calculus and analytical geometry (211)

Summer 2012: Calculus and Analytic Geometry II (232), Seminar introduction of the mathematical language (proofs, theorems etc.) (341)

Fall 2012: Calculus and Analytic Geometry III (233), Linear Algebra and Differential Equations (234), Economic Theory: Microeconomics (701), Mathematical Economics I (506), Advanced Calculus I (521)

Spring 2013: Advanced Calculus II (522), Introduction to probability models (571), Mathematical Economics II (606), Economic Theory: Macroeconomics (702), Foundation of Econometric Methods (734)