PDA

View Full Version : How would you rank the importance of these MATH courses

soundchaser
01-21-2014, 12:03 AM
Hi, I am a sophomore who intend to apply for PhD program after graduation

I have taken (am currently taking) Calculus I-III, Matrix Algebra, Math Proof, Prob and Stat (for econ students), and expect to take two courses on real analysis (basically covering Rudin's textbook materials), Differential Equations, and an econ course covering Dixit's book on Optimization.

I am not sure what else should I take in the following two years. Options are

1, Two further courses on Real Analysis
(covering topics like Sigma-algebras, measure theory, integration, convergence theorems, Lp spaces, Lebesgue differentiation, Banach spaces, bounded and compact operators, topology. Hahn-Banach, open mapping, Hilbert spaces, symmetric and self-adjoint operators.)
2, Calculus IV
3, Linear Programming
4, a 3rd-year course called "Intro to Probability", which is neither a pre-req nor an equivalence of the fourth-yr one.
5, a fourth-year course on Probability, and then Stochastic Process (which requires the fourth-year Prob)
6, intermediate Stat and Prob (in Stat department)
(4, 5, 6 seem to be substitutes to some extent)

I am aiming high, and I know more is always better, but obviously I have limited credits and do not want to devote all of them to Math. So there's trade-off. How would you rank the relative importance of the courses above? Thanks for any opinion.

As for now, I want to specialize in either game theory and mechanism design, or development economics and new political economy, for my Phd study. But, As a sophomore it's probably too early for me to say that. But I don't think I'm ever going to do finance. Macro is also unlikely but I'm not that sure.

coffeehouse
01-21-2014, 12:18 AM
I may be biased but I would put 4, 5 and 6 above the rest. Especially if you've only taken prob an stat for econ students.
2 further courses in real analysis seems like overkill.