PDA

View Full Version : Federal Reserve Regional Economics Intern

UVAfr
01-30-2014, 09:18 PM
I'm a sophomore, and I recently applied to a summer internship with the Richmond Federal Reserve's Regional Economics team. They recently contacted me and set up an interview. However, upon further research, it seems like the Regional Economics team, which reports on regional economic trends, is largely composed of economists with masters, NOT PhDs (not trying to rag on those with masters, but I'm just more interested in research).

I understand that I haven't even been accepted to the position yet (as I'm sure a lot of other qualified candidates applied), but this worries me a bit. Do you guys think that it might just be more advantageous for me to try and get an RA position with a professor at my school, so that I can get a better taste of what research is actually like? I know that the Regional Economics Department is closely affiliated with the Research Department, but I don't think I'll get much exposure to the latter.

At the end of the day, if (knock on wood), I get it, there are definitely some nice perks: it pays pretty well, and I'd be able to stay at home for the summer. But, I'm not sure if this is the best choice for me if I want to explore research more.

Thanks for your input.

Food4Thought
01-30-2014, 10:42 PM
I was an RA for a M.A. in econ at a think tank last summer, and I participated in legitimate research. If getting a taste of the what research is like (literature review, data collection and entry, analysis) is your goal, then the Fed internship should do the trick. If you are also looking for a letter of rec, then I would try to RA for your professor.

Javy001
02-01-2014, 03:42 AM