PDA

View Full Version : Top 10-20 possible without any RA experience?

pacho
02-01-2014, 02:07 AM
Hi guys, I need your advice.

I'm an economics student at a top latin american university which has a great placement history, every year some students go to top 10 programs. I'm currently a senior student and I've been offered a job at a global investment bank by a professor at my uni but I don't if taking this job will affect my chances to a top 10-20 program because I will not have time to RA. I'm taking some phd level courses and will be doing so for the time to come. My GPA should me 3.88 by the time I graduate and will have a lot of maths, like real analysis, under my belt. I'm not posting my profile in the traditional format because there's some time left until I graduate.

Do you think taking this job opportunity will shut me off a top 10-20 program?

Icculus
02-01-2014, 03:07 AM
I can't weigh in much .. But I do suggest you go talk to your advisors and ask how you scale up to students who have gone to top schools in the past.

You'll get the best information there, in my opinion.

Michalz
02-01-2014, 02:34 PM
When you fill application forms only in few cases they explicitly ask you for your research experience (especially if it's not something you have published). Of course you can put in your CV, but I think that RA experience matters only in letters. When you are RA for a professor, he is likely to describe it in the letter and you can benefit from that.

Kaysa
02-01-2014, 03:33 PM
This post is not intended to be mean because I understand that you are a foreign student. However, your post indicates to me that your English is a bigger problem than your RA predicament.

envirodevonomic
02-01-2014, 03:52 PM
This post is not intended to be mean because I understand that you are a foreign student. However, your post indicates to me that your English is a bigger problem than your RA predicament.