PDA

View Full Version : College Sophomore...stressing myself out...any insight?

Danielle
02-26-2014, 02:22 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm hoping someone can help me...I'm currently a college sophomore double majoring in Economics and Political Science at Florida State University. I know it's a little early but I was wondering if anyone knew any graduate schools where I could earn a degree incorporating both of my interests in economics and political science.

Additionally, from what I have read about most of the econ grad schools, you need a strong math background. I have already taken Intermediate Micro Theory (earned a B+) and am currently in Introduction to Econometrics (expecting to earn an A or a B). Over the next two years I plan on taking Calc 1, 2, and 3; linear algebra; and probability and statistics. With my double major, I don't have anymore room to take more math classes. Will these provide me with a strong enough math background for econ grad schools?

Additional info that might be helpful....I have a 3.3 GPA which I am hoping to bring up but I doubt it will go up too much over the next few years. I am also participating in research with a political science professor at my university and once I finish, I am going into some economics research with another professor. Will grad schools take this research into much consideration when reviewing my application?

One more question...From what I have seen, most people who completer their phd go on to teach at a university, but if I have no interest in teaching, is it worth it to get a phd?

Any feedback or insight is greatly appreciated as I have just recently started my grad school search. Thank you.

Catrina
02-26-2014, 02:34 AM
What range (in terms of rankings) of schools are you aiming for?

2Iron
02-26-2014, 02:34 AM
For the top political science and economics programs, you're going to need to bring up your GPA. Sometimes it takes a while to get a feel for how to perform well in your college classes.