PDA

View Full Version : Profile Evaluation PhD in Economics, 2015. Need your 2 cents!!

finphdshooter
11-12-2014, 01:54 PM
Hi, fellow forum members!
I am an international college student and trying to apply to U.S. PhD in Economics. I would be very grateful if anyone could give me some feedback on my profile. Thank you very much in advance !! :)

Program Applying to: Econ PhD
GRE Scores: V640, Q800 (161,166)
Undegrad degree / GPA: B.A Econ/Math / 3.8, T20 U.S. private
Courses taken:
---Econ: Principle of Micro/Macro (B-,A-), Intermediate Micro/Macro (A-,B+), Intro to stat (A-), Empirical Methods (A), Intro Global trade&Fin (A), Experimental Econ (A), Managerial Econ (A), Econ Forecasting (A-), Mathematical Econ (A), International Finance (A), Honors Research (A)
---Math: Intro Prob &Stat (A), Game theory,Graphs&Math models (A), Calc 1,2 (A,A), Multivariable Calc (B+), Differential Equations (A), Linear Algebra (A), Foundations of Mathematics (A), Probability and Statistics (A)

Work Experience: Internship at an investment company
Teaching Experience: 1 semester TA in college, 2 years of teaching international high school students in a private institution(Econ/Math)
Research Experience: RA internship at a top-tier consulting firm
letter of recommendation: 2 Econ professors, 1 Math professor. (2 of them were in my honors committee and know me well. Besides my explanation in SOP, they will explain about my honors status. The last one could be a little mediocre.)
Research Interests: International (Macro)-Finance, Monetary Economics, Macroeconomics
Statement of Purpose : Working my a** off on this one. Since I lack other outstanding qualifications, I think this is only I have in order to appeal to adcom.
Schools Considering to Apply to: (According to US News ranking) About 15 schools in T20-70-----------------------------------------