PDA

View Full Version : Advice for someone out of school who messed up their undergrad

idungoofed
12-03-2014, 12:56 AM
Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster. I'm wondering if anyone can give me some advice or input.

I graduated back in 2010 with a bachelor's in stats, and have since worked in IT. I'm sick of IT, and tired of constantly being envious of my friends who went into econ, so I really want to try to get into the field.

Trouble is I manged to get super depressed for two years in the middle of college, which absolutely wreaked havoc on my college career. So I have tons of bad grades on my transcript, no research experience, my professors barely knew me, I didn't take many upper level courses beyond the minimum required, etc. But there are at least a few bright spots that show I'm not a total idiot and capable of difficult work.

What do you all recommend? Should I take a bunch of math classes part time to prove that I actually am capable of doing well? Try to leverage my stats degree into any sort of research position? Write papers in my spare to time create a portfolio of sorts? Try to find a terminal master's? Give up hope? And don't worry, I'm assuming I'll never be going to a top ten school. I'm just not sure how to even go about repairing my situation.

PROFILE:
Type of Undergrad: BS in Statistics from Wisconsin
Undergrad GPA: 3.1 - 3.7 in stats, and 3.7 for the last four semesters
GRE: 170 quant, 170 verbal, 5.5 writing
Math Courses:
Honors linear algebra/multivariable calc - A
Intro to modern algebra - F (lol)
Econ Courses (undergrad-level):
Introductory micro - AB
Introductory macro - B
Advanced intermediate macro - BC
Other Courses:
I took 6 stats classes for my major, and got A's and AB's in all of them
Letters of Recommendation: My stats adviser liked me but I haven't talked to him in years...
Research Experience: Absolutely none
Teaching Experience: Some from extracurriculars and stuff I've done at work, but that's about it