PDA

View Full Version : Should I get a PhD in Economics, or is a Masters in Public Policy a better option?

kevin1297
12-04-2014, 07:59 PM
Hi,
I'm currently a sophomore at a small liberal arts college in Los Angeles, and I was thinking about graduate school. I really like public policy, history, international relations and economics, and want to do something where I can influence policy decisions. Working in academia is fine, since I can do research which will be read by policy makers and hopefully influence public policy. I really like development economics, and hope someday to work for an NGO, the UN, or a development economics, or international economics consulting firm. I have a strong passion for all my interests mentioned above, and can talk about them all day, every day, forever, and I love research, but am not super comfortable with math. i like in theory, and think it's very interesting, but was never a superstar at calculus, statistics, etc. but managed to do well simply by working hard. I am currently taking Statistics, and will take Calculus II next semester to see how I like math, and continue if I find it enjoyable.

My dilemma is that I'm not sure whether I should go into a Masters in Public Policy or PhD in Economics program. I can learn to like math, but it never came easy to me, but if I work hard at it, maybe I can like it more. What should I do in order to figure out what path is right for me?

P.S. My GPA is a 3.57. If I do well the rest of college, i should have around a 3.75 to a 3.85. Is that GPA good enough for a PhD in Economics program, or a MPP?

Thanks,
kevin1297

PhDPlease
12-04-2014, 08:34 PM