PDA

View Full Version : Statistical / Econometric software discussion

doomy
01-30-2015, 11:39 PM
Hey guys. :)

I couldn't find a similar thread using the search engine, so I thought I'd start one. The question is - Which statistical / econometric package or programming language are you mostly using on a daily basis?

I have some experience with Microfit and EViews but am not very proficient in any way with both. So before really dedicating myself to "mastering" a single programme, I thought I'd ask for your opinions, hoping to create a discussion.

What is best for time series analysis? Cross-sectional data?, Panel data? R? MATLAB? Stata? Python (SciPy etc.)?

Which syntax do you prefer - C, C++, Python? Which software do you feel like wins in terms of visual representation of data?

Assuming that uhm... *cough* *cough* there were no budget constrains, which one do you consider to be superior or have that extra utility you need? Additionally, from your experience, under job skills, proficiency with which software is most looked for? From what I have seen in job descriptions (mostly in the financial sector) EViews and R are somewhat frequently mentioned.

Obviously, knowing your econometric theory is the most important when conducting any empirical research, but it's 2015 and learning a new interface and syntax can be annoying and time consuming. However, sticking to something outdated can also prove to be a bad decision in the long run. What's your opinion on these thoughts?

libre147
01-31-2015, 12:21 AM
I use Stata and SAS. These programs handle time series and panel data well. I find the syntax of these program pretty straight forward and have no problem switching between them, provided that you have a clean and ready data set. I don't think syntax change are problematic, as they do not occur very frequently. Even if they do, you still can figure out very quickly.