PDA

View Full Version : masters in applied math

publicaffairsny
02-01-2015, 01:02 AM
For a three semester masters. Is the masters in applied math superior to a masters in econ? One I'm lookin at requires 10 courses with 6 math courses and 4 applied and a research project. I was figuring if I did a PhD micro and metrics sequence at the school as my electives this would be a far superior preparation.

Food4Thought
02-01-2015, 02:13 AM
Good post.

Many professors I have talked to have expressed the general sentiment that if you have two identical students and have one do a M.A. in econ and the other do a M.A. in math, the latter would be more competitive at top programs. That being said, excelling in a math masters is more difficult than excelling in an economics masters, which is an important thing to consider.

However, if I recall correctly, you seem to not really care about rank (just you would really love to get into the SUNY system?).

publicaffairsny
02-01-2015, 02:39 AM
Good post.

Many professors I have talked to have expressed the general sentiment that if you have two identical students and have one do a M.A. in econ and the other do a M.A. in math, the latter would be more competitive at top programs. That being said, excelling in a math masters is more difficult than excelling in an economics masters, which is an important thing to consider.

However, if I recall correctly, you seem to not really care about rank (just you would really love to get into the SUNY system?).

I feel like as preparation for the rigors of first year PhD econ classes a strong mathematical preparation coupled with the actual PhD courses you will be taking would be far more constructive. It will also facilitate true mastery of quantitative economic methods and a level or mathematical research that will inform your thought process.