PDA

View Full Version : Profile Evaluation and Suggestions Please.

AJZ
02-07-2015, 06:45 AM
Hi! I am a 3-year international student studying at a Top3 U.S. public university right now, and I am preparing for grad school application. It would be great if I could have some of your opinions on my current background and possible ways to improve it. So, here we go:

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: Top3 U.S. public research university (Top 15 Econ dept and top 5 math dept world-wide, according to various rankings).

Undergrad GPA: 3.976/4.000 Major GPA: roughly the same

GRE: 153V/170Q/3.5W (Took it a year ago)

Undergrad Math Courses: (Note: Grade A and A+ are usually the same in my university, but some professors do give out A+ in their classes. A and A+ are both 4.0 in GPA)
Single-Variable Calculus 1,2(A, A) Multi-Variable Calculus 1,2(A, A+) Intro to Linear Algebra (A+) Intro to Discrete Mathematics (A) Intro to Differential Equation (A)
Honors Linear Algebra (A+) Probability Theory 1(A) Honors Real Analysis 1 (A-)

Econ Courses (undergrad-level): Intro1/Intro2/Intermediate Microeconomic Theory (A+, A+, A+) Intro/Intermediate Macroeconomic Theory (A+, A+)

Programming courses: C++ 1, 2 (A, A)

Classes will be taken before applying:
Probability Theory 2, Honors Real Analysis 2, Numerical Methods 1, Econometrics (Undergrad)

Letters of Recommendation: (I am considering asking some of these six professors for LOR)

1.4th Year econ thesis adviser (did not take any class with him)
2. An econ professor that I took a class with, and he has been my "mentor" for a long time. Will possibly do research with him over this summer
3. Probability Theory 2 professor who I am considering doing research with next quarter
4. Intermediate Macro Prof who I talked a lot to about PhD programs
5. Honors Real Analysis 2 Prof who I haven't met yet. But will take her class next quarter
6. Econometrics Prof. who I will take next quarter

Research Interests: Micro Economics Theory