PDA

View Full Version : Profile Evaluation/Sanity Check

iamelben
02-08-2015, 10:52 PM
Howdy folks,

Not sure how common or uncommon this is, but I'm actually a psych undergrad looking to apply to behavioral/experimental economics programs. I'll start my (second) senior year (dat 5 year plan, tho :stupid:) in the fall, so these are the classes I will complete by the time I graduate. A word before I even start, this isn't your typical: "Oh, I'm in a top-ranked program with perfect grades and a PhD in math, do you think I have a change?" request for a profile eval. I'm coming up on my last year of undergrad, and I need to start thinking critically about my application.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: Unranked state school (borderline community college) with no econ program. Community/Organizational Psych Major, double minor in math and econ

Undergrad GPA:3.76 (econ GPA 4.0, Math GPA 3.6)

GRE: Not yet, but I'm nailing practice tests pretty well with ~167 Quant. Not even worrying about verbal right now.

Undergrad math courses: Calc I and II, Discrete Math I, Linear Algebra, & Probability and Stats.

Undergrad econ courses: Principles of Macro, Principles of Micro, Intermediate Macro, International Econ, Econ of Work and Pay (Labor)

Programming: proficient in SPSS (social sciences stats) and r (self-taught/Coursera).

Classes taken before applying: Intermediate Micro, Calc III, Discrete Math II, and Differential Equations