PDA

View Full Version : Missing applying for SATII

knok
11-02-2005, 05:41 PM
My son missed to apply for SATII for December test. I read application details of Washington University later that two subject tests of SATII are recommended but not required. What should we do? Also, it seems that December test date is the final test that universities will consider.

At first, I thought that universities in Midwest did not require SATII at all. I have no experience in applying for schools at undergraduate level here. Also, I read through UC schools, it seems that they all require subject tests of SATII. Am I correct? Since we are in the Midwest and he is not a CA resident, I know from my cousin who lives in CA that a non-resident needs to do a very higher mark than a CA resident to get into UC system anyway. He went to UCLA (30 years ago). So we skip to apply UCLA. My son talks to his college counselor, she said that only UCLA required subject tests. How about UC-Irvine and San Diego? Do they require subject tests?

What should we do to compensate this? Or should we skip to apply for UC system at all?

Knok

babypurin
11-03-2005, 12:21 AM
All University of California (UC) schools require Subject Tests - so no luck there; especially if your are an out-of-state resident.

Remember that Washington University in St. Louis is an extremely competitive school to get into so if your son is deficient in an area (GPA, SAT, EC's,...) it could benefit him if he took some SATII's.

Remember, your son could always take the SATII's by being a standby taker.

Some colleges also waive the SATII requirement if one submits the ACT (Yale, Upenn, Tufts,...)-- although, the UC system unfourtantely is one of the places that does not do that.

shuttupjessmah
11-04-2005, 05:23 AM