PDA

View Full Version : A little info for AWA

gre_hunt
12-12-2005, 05:26 AM
Hi Everyone,

After gathering info from this forum, I think it's time to return something.

Before you go further, please note that I am an international student whose 1st language is not English. So what I write today might not suit those who speak English as their 1st language.

A little more about me, I have finished general GRE several months ago. My verbal score is quite bad (less than 400). But my AWA score is 5.5. This proved something. It proved that you don't need the fancy words to impress the essay raters. With a tiny vocab database in your brain, you can "hypnotize" them...

How?

These are my strategies when I practice:

1. I always aim my essay to be 520-550 words. The longer (perhaps) the better. But you should at least make it hit 500. Too short will be blunt even though you can convey all info you need. But who wants to read the blunt essay.

2. I avoid using flashy words. Actually I am not capable to use them :D I think this might be the case for those whose 1st language is not English. It's risky to use the fancy words with a good purpose but it turns out to be awkward and perhaps mislead the raters. Clear and concise is perfectly fine. The formal words you found in the daily articles are sufficient.

3. I try to build up at least 5 paragraphs. 1 for intro, 3 for contents and the last one for conclusion. You might get an extra one for the content, it's a bonus. It's called "fve-paragraph essay" which north american students practice since they were in the grade school. We can use that too...And it works.

Alright, I will continue if I found that people are interested in what I write..
Good luck to all of you

coolsamurai_83
12-12-2005, 06:43 AM
Thanks for the info gre hunt!
Your further advice will be appreciated.

gre_hunt
12-25-2005, 10:19 PM
Hi again.
Although there is only one response, I think I 'd better go on with it.
These are my strategies when I practice (II):