PDA

View Full Version : i need some help about books

imported_n/a
05-21-2002, 11:13 AM
Hi,i am a individual student from Turkey and now i decided to take toefl exam.i have not got enough information about how to study and i am really confused about preparation books.
i am not good at toefl vocabulary so i want to improve it. i am thinking about two vocabulary book :
Essential Words for the Toefl by Steven J. Matthiesen
and Word Smart: Building and educated vocabulay by Adam Robinson/ Princeton Review
i am also interested in "Peterson's Toefl Reading/Grammar flash 2002"books and i need your advice.
ps:please let me now if there is any other books on this subject.

raghuveer_v
05-21-2002, 02:55 PM
Hai,

Welcome to the best site for TOEFL on the net.
(No, i am not the owner of this web-site.
I am just a student like you.)

See the page ...

http://www.TestMagic.com/Knowledge_Base/book_recommendations.htm

for the best books on TOEFL.

All the best.Bye

Raghuveer.

Erin
05-21-2002, 04:53 PM
Essential Words for the Toefl by Steven J. Matthiesen
and Word Smart: Building and educated vocabulay by Adam Robinson/ Princeton ReviewRaghuveer (who seems to be a great TestMagic ambassador ) is pointing you in the right direction.

These two books are fine, but there's no substitute for a good dictionary. Personally, I have N-E-V-E-R used a vocab-building book for English or for any other language I've studied, although they are somewhat useful for GRE or SAT.

i am also interested in "Peterson's Toefl Reading/Grammar flash 2002"books and i need your advice.

You know, I have to be very careful about talking about the quality of a book. You will notice on the page Raghuveer told you about, I don't have any negative reviews. This is because, well, I don't want to make anybody angry. You can assume, then, if the book is not listed, then I cannot recommend it.