PDA

View Full Version : weak math, average undergrad, good GRE

zmca2017
06-27-2006, 06:39 PM
I graduated from a state school business program ranked on the fringe of the top 25 with a 3.7 GPA and scored 790Q/700V on the GRE. Unfortunately, my math background is limited to one course each in statistics and calculus.

Assuming that I do well in a few math classes this fall, do I have a chance of being accepted to a worthwhile phd program? If so, what courses would put me in the best position (I was thinking of taking introductory linear algebra and another calculus course)?

I appreciate any thoughts or suggestions.

asquare
06-27-2006, 06:55 PM
GRE scores don't help you get into top econ PhD programs. They can hurt you if you score poorly, but even a 790 or 800 merely puts you into the middle of the pack of applicants at top schools. To put it in perspective, a 790 on the quant section is around the 90th percentile, and a score below a 750 is often grounds for retaking the test.

When you say you've only taken one calculus class, do you mean that you've taken single variable differential calculus, but have not had a class in integration or multivariable calc? If this is the case, there are really a number of math courses you should take before applying to (or enrolling in) a PhD program. Multivariable calculus is the absolutely most basic, every day tool of even intermediate economics. At the graduate level, calculus should be an afterthough -- requiring no more thought than plugging numbers into a calculator, really. The second semester of single variable calc plus a semester of multivariable calc are absolutely basic, necessary prerequesites for a PhD in economics, at any school.