PDA

View Full Version : I'm new here, i could use a little advice on the verbal plea

PradeepLR
09-13-2003, 06:59 AM
Hi, I am new to test magic. I was wondering if anyone could help me out with the verbal section on the GRE. I use the Kaplan GRE verbal workout book, the ARCO GRE prep book, and the Barrons 9th ed. book. I like the Barrons the best, and so i use it more often than the others. I rarely pick up the ARCO book. Anyways, when i do the problems in the Barrons book, i am pretty consistent, and get around 50% of the questions correct. But, the thing is that when I look at the problems i missed, it is always the same routine. for nearly 90% of the questions i got wrong, I am able to eliminate 3-2 of the answer choices, most of the time it is 3, so i am left with 2 choices. The correct one, and the incorrect one. As i said, 90% of the time I choose the incorrect one. The problems I need to eliminate on are the ones I do not know the answer straight from looking at the choices. So anyways, This is my problem, I was wondering if anyone had a good technique to eliminate my bad guessing when it comes down to the last two choices. I appreciate any and all input, thanks again for your help.

Pradeep

eagle
09-13-2003, 10:39 PM
Hi Pradeep,
From how long have you been studying? My guess is that not very long- since I was like that at the start. Get a reasonable hold on the wordlist in Barron's and stay cool- you will definitely do better.
Also, go through the Princeton Review for GRE from some library- the have good tips on the 'process of elimination'. But, frankly, I dont know which is harder ,learning the lists or learning their techniques:). But like I was saying- they have a good technique there.
And keep practising-Barron's is a great book- IMO.
Best of Luck.

PradeepLR
09-14-2003, 06:42 AM
Yeah, i've been studyin for probably about a month now. Thanks for the advice, i'll check out princetons book, and keep practicing. Thanks again

Pradeep.

Psyoutlaw