PDA

View Full Version : How to explain away time wasted?

aspencolorado
07-24-2007, 06:40 PM
I graduated at a VERY young age in Aero-Astro from MIT. The Aeronautics and Astronautics program is one of the best and most challenging programs at MIT but I was several years younger than my classmates and my GPA is a low 2.9.

After MIT, I was on drugs for the next six years, doing nothing. Even today my #1 task is fighting the drug habit and #2 is the GRE/GMAT.

The low 2.9 GPA can hopefully be explained away if I ace the standardized tests.

My question is - how can I explain away the post-MIT six years that I was doing nothing but drugs?

asquare
07-24-2007, 06:47 PM
You can't "explain away" six years. You really need to talk to the people who are going to write your letters of recommendation about what they think you should say, and what they are going to say.

You are also going to have a lot of trouble overcoming the GPA, to be honest. Some departments have official minimum GPA requirements of 3.0, but any department is going to be extremely concerned about a sub-3.0 GPA without other extremely strong off-setting factors. And having graduated from MIT is simply not enough.

Depending on the range of schools you are targeting, high GRE scores are not going to make up for the GPA. For top-10 schools, scores of 790 or 800 are very common, and below 780 is cause for concern. An 800 on the quantitative section of the GRE is not "bonus points" for applicants to top econ programs.

In your situation, you may want to take some classes at a local university or community college to demonstrate that despite the low GPA and six years out of school, you can get good grades. Building up a bit of an academic record before applying could help you a lot with both problems.

Ricardinho
07-24-2007, 07:23 PM
Asquare is absolutely right. You should try to take some more courses and get good grades in them before you apply.