PDA

View Full Version : NCSU and GMU

aspencolorado
07-24-2007, 09:49 PM
I emailed my vita to North Carolina State University's Econ dept and the prof wrote back today saying that he thought I would certainly be admitted after looking over my vita and courses and letter from my counselor, while making it clear that a) I won't be getting any financial aid without the GRE and b) he was just conveying his personal opinion/feelings and this was in no way an official admit.

Questions -
1) What are the chances I get funding at NCSU after a semester or a year, i.e. after I have shown them I am a good student?

2) If I go to NCSU unsupported, can I support myself with on-campus jobs or off-campus employment or fixing broken bikes on campus, delivering newspapers, moving lawns, etc?

3) Someone mentioned GMU has a part-time program. Is this the part-time PhD program? Can I do ANY Econ PhD part time while working off-campus to support my family?

apropos
07-24-2007, 10:19 PM
I emailed my vita to North Carolina State University's Econ dept and the prof wrote back today saying that he thought I would certainly be admitted after looking over my vita and courses and letter from my counselor, while making it clear that a) I won't be getting any financial aid without the GRE and b) he was just conveying his personal opinion/feelings and this was in no way an official admit.

Questions -
1) What are the chances I get funding at NCSU after a semester or a year, i.e. after I have shown them I am a good student?

2) If I go to NCSU unsupported, can I support myself with on-campus jobs or off-campus employment or fixing broken bikes on campus, delivering newspapers, moving lawns, etc?

3) Someone mentioned GMU has a part-time program. Is this the part-time PhD program? Can I do ANY Econ PhD part time while working off-campus to support my family?