PDA

View Full Version : How much does undergraduate reputation matter?

kidairbag
08-01-2007, 01:11 AM
I'm about to start my second full year at the University of Central Florida. Despite the fact that our acceptance rate isn't that high (~40%) and we have a strong honors program, we tend to be known more for our size (6th largest school in the nation) than our academic quality.

I'm currently majoring in economics and math and getting good grades in both. This year I will have a position as an undergraduate research assistant and before I graduate I will have written and defended an honors thesis.

That being said, I have not heard of anybody from my school going on to get a PHD in economics since Glenn Hubbard, more or less getting accepted into a top 10 program. Is it safe to to assume that my chances of getting into a good school are damaged because of my undergrad's reputation? If so could this be remedied with an Msc from somewhere such as UPF or Tilburg?

I really like my school. There are a lot of bright people here and the professors are all very helpful and knowledgeable. (Not to mention the in state tuition and full ride scholarship.) Sometimes, however, I wonder if transferring to a better school would be the only way I could get into a top program.

notacolour
08-01-2007, 02:10 AM
To answer the question in the subject, probably more than you or I would like. However, I don't think it's at all insurmountable, particularly at schools outside of the top 5 but still very good. Plenty of people from directional state schools with far worse programs and student bodies than UCF have gone to very good econ PhD programs, so don't worry about not being considered at all.