PDA

View Full Version : Non Economics background - admissions inq

EconEnthu
08-03-2007, 03:36 AM
Undergrad: Elect Eng from top Engineering school in my country
GPA ~ 3.5/4
Math courses: Calculus I, II, PDE, Optimization, Complex analysis, Number theory
Econ courses: Very small number-> Econ I (basic undergrad course), Economic Policy, Business Econ 101, Applied Econ.
Other courses: tons of EE ( i got a degree in that :D)
Job Exp: 2+ years in Financial services company as an analyst..
Econ Research exp: none
LORs: will come from my grad advisor and one Econ prof from school.. both should be good.

Anyone with same/similar background? Any suggestions about how easy or difficult is would a phd application in ivy schools would be?
If you know some one of similar background.. how did (s)he get thru..?
Is doing a masters (before applying for a phd) only way to get to the good schools?

Thanks!

SMH
08-03-2007, 10:35 AM
i think doing a masters in econ would certainly boost your chances, i am sure that every reasonable university (if not all) ask that applicants must have done atleast one semester of micro, macro and may be econometrics. you have done applied economics which is good but i guess not good enough

another problem that i see is that there are no probability, statistics and real analysis course. so i guess you have a good profile with bits and pieces missing which can all be filled via a masters degree

this is of course only my opinion and others may suggest a better alternative

good luck

Zoethor2
08-03-2007, 11:37 AM
I agree with SMH; most top schools expect their students to have taken intermediate level micro and macro, as I recall, and courses in linear algebra and statistics. Complex and number theory are all well and good, but I don't think they'll add much to your admissions chances, realistically.

A Masters would help fill in the missing pieces.

quantwanabe
08-03-2007, 01:46 PM